Image de Etty Fidele

Indigenous communities

According to the last census conducted in 2011 by the Instituto Nacional de Estádistica y Censos (INEC), the indigenous population of Costa Rica consisted of 104,143 individuals, representing at that time a little less than 2.5% of the total population of the country.

8 minority ethnic groups, namely the Bribris, Bruncas, Cabécars, Chorotegas, Guaymís, Huetars, Malekus and Teribes, live today in 24 indigenous territories scattered in 6 of the 7 provinces of Costa Rica (although they are mostly present in the South Pacific and Caribbean regions).

In 2011, according to INEC, these territories were home to 48,500 people, of whom approximately 36,000 were indigenous. 25% of the population of all these geographic entities is not from one of these ethnic groups.

Indigenous territories of Costa Rica

Indigenous territories of Costa Rica. Source: INEC (2011).

These indigenous communities have many cultural assets that deserve to be known and preserved, such as their mother tongue, their practices and beliefs, their knowledge of medicinal plants and those used for handicrafts, and their indigenous architectural models.

THE BRIBRIS & CABÉCARS

Stretching from the Caribbean coast to the heart of the Talamanca mountain range, the Bribri and Cabecar indigenous communities are the largest in Costa Rica in terms of population.

Their cultural identity has remained authentic. Although both ethnic groups have their own language, they share a belief in the same god, Sibo. Their traditional medicine and construction with materials from the forest are some of their remarkable practices to discover.

Their subsistence economy is based mainly on the cultivation of cocoa, bananas and cereals as well as hunting and fishing.

IMG-20200207-WA0016_edited.jpg
Malekus.jpg

THE MALEKUS

Located in the Northern Plains region, in the Guatuso indigenous territory, the Maleku community has preserved its language and beliefs towards their god Tocu and their devil Maica.

The economy of this group is based on the cultivation of cereals, tubers, bananas, cacao and the sale of handicrafts. The rural and community tourism that is developing allows some songs, dances and traditional costumes made of "mastate" to survive.

THE BRUNCAS, GUAYMÍS & TERIBES

These 3 ethnic groups are located in the South Pacific region. They maintain deeply rooted customs based on beliefs for their god, birth, death, puberty and marriage.

 

Numerous ceremonies and dances punctuate the life of these communities and constitute, among other things, the richness of their cultural identity. This is the case, for example, of the "Fiesta de los Diablitos" (Festival of the Devils) celebrated by the Bruncas from December 31 to January 2.

In addition to agriculture, handicrafts occupy an important place in the economy of these ethnic groups. 

187955070_5488752247865378_7235528096878
Matamb%C3%BA_edited.jpg

THE CHOROTEGAS

The Chorotegas live in the indigenous territory of Matambú, in Guanacaste. They are the few descendants of the Mesoamerican natives.


Although this group has lost its language and part of its traditions due to its assimilation into the rural system of the Nicoya Peninsula, old customs remain between generations: typical recipes, traditional medicine, beliefs and pottery crafts.

THE HUETARS

Close to the capital San José, the Quitirrisí and Zapatón territories had 2,417 individuals in 2011, of which 1,354 were indigenous.


Although the Huetars have lost their language, some traditions remain such as the "Fiesta del Maïz" during which traditional musical instruments and chicha are at the heart of the celebration.

Although their lands are not very suitable for agriculture, some families are dedicated to the cultivation and sale of medicinal plants of which they have an excellent knowledge. The commercialization of handicrafts such as baskets, baskets and hats also represents an important activity for this ethnic group.

Huetar

Image de Etty Fidele

Peuples indigènes

Selon le dernier recensement réalisé en 2011 par l’Instituto Nacional de Estádistica y Censos (INEC), la population indigène du Costa Rica se composait de 104'143 individus, représentant à cette époque un peu moins de 2,5% de la population totale du pays.

8 ethnies minoritaires, à savoir les Bribris, Bruncas, Cabécars, Chorotegas, Guaymís, Huetars, Malekus et Teribes vivent aujourd’hui dans 24 territoires indigènes disséminés dans 6 des 7 provinces du Costa Rica (bien que surtout présents dans les régions du Pacifique Sud et des Caraïbes).

 

En 2011, selon l'INEC, ces territoires accueillaient 48'500 individus dont environ 36'000 indigènes. 25% de la population de l'ensemble de ces entités géographiques n'est de ce fait pas issue de l'un de ces groupes ethniques.

Territoires indigenès du Costa Rica

Territoires indigènes du Costa Rica. Source : INEC (2011).

Ces communautés indigènes ont de nombreux atouts culturels qui méritent d’être connus et préservés tels que leur langue maternelle, leurs pratiques et leurs croyances, leurs connaissances dans les plantes médicinales et celles utilisées pour l’artisanat ou encore leurs modèles architecturaux autochtones.

LES BRIBRIS & CABÉCARS

S'étendant de la côte caribéenne jusqu’au cœur de la cordillère de Talamanca, les communautés indigènes Bribri et Cabécar sont les plus importantes du Costa Rica en termes de population.

Leur identité culturelle est restée authentique. Bien que ces deux ethnies disposent chacune de leur propre langue, elles partagent une croyance envers un même dieu, Sibö. Leur médecine traditionnelle et leur construction à base de matériaux provenant de la forêt font partie de leurs pratiques remarquables à découvrir.

Leur économie de subsistance se base essentiellement sur la culture du cacao, des bananes et des céréales ainsi que sur la chasse et la pêche.

IMG-20200207-WA0016_edited.jpg
Malekus.jpg

LES MALEKUS

Situé dans la région des plaines du Nord, dans le territoire indigène Guatuso, la communauté Maleku a conservé sa langue et ses croyances envers leur dieu Tocu et leur diable Maica.

L'économie de ce groupe est basée sur la culture des céréales, de tubercules, de bananes, de cacao et la vente de produits artisanaux. Le tourisme rural et communautaire qui se développe permet de faire perdurer quelques chants, danses et costumes traditionnels faits de mastate.

LES BRUNCAS, GUAYMÍS & TERIBES

Ces 3 ethnies se situent dans la région du Pacifique Sud. Elles maintiennent des coutumes profondément enracinées basées sur des croyances pour leur dieu, la naissance, la mort, la puberté et le mariage.

De nombreuses cérémonies et danses rythment la vie de ces communautées et constituent, entre autre, les richesses de leur identié culturelle. C'est le cas par exemple de la "Fiesta de los Diablitos" (la Fête des Diables) célébrée par les Bruncas du 31 décembre au 2 janvier.

En plus de l'agriculture, l'artisanat occupe une place importante dans l'économie de ces ethnies. 

187955070_5488752247865378_7235528096878
Matamb%C3%BA_edited.jpg

LES CHOROTEGAS

Les Chorotegas vivent dans le territoire indigène Matambú, dans le Guanacaste. Ils sont les rares descendants des indigènes mésoaméricains.

Bien que ce groupe ait perdu sa langue et une partie de ses traditions dû à son assimiliation par le système rural de la péninsule de Nicoya, des anciennes coutumes perdurent néanmoins entre générations : recettes typiques, médecine traditionnelle, croyances et artisanat de la poterie.

LES HUETARS

Proches de la capitale San José, les territoires Quitirrisí et Zapatón comptaient 2'417 individus en 2011 dont 1'354 autochtones.

Bien que les Huetars aient perdu leur langue, certaines traditions perdurent telle que la "Fiesta del Maïz" durant laquelle les instruments de musique traditionnels et la chicha sont au coeur de la fête.

 

Bien que leurs terres ne soient pas très propices à l'agriculture, certaines familles se consacrent à la culture et à la vente de plantes médicinales dont ils ont une excellente connaissance. La commercialisation d'objets artisanaux tels des paniers, des corbeilles et des chapeaux représente également une activité importante pour cette ethnie.

Huetar