Parque Nacional Barra Honda

Barra Honda National Park

ENTRANCE FEE: Resident 1'000 colones / Foreigner 12$

Located in the province of Guanacaste less than 15 kilometers northeast of Nicoya (about 30 minutes by car from the city), the Barra Honda National Park is the only protected wilderness area in Costa Rica with a complex system of limestone caves. 

 

However, with only 5'621 visitors in 2019 according to the Costa Rican Institute of Tourism (ICT), it is still very little visited by local and foreign tourists.

Covering an area of 2'295 hectares, the park plays a major role in the region both for the preservation of the underground art galleries of the Barra Honda hill and for the protection of the ecosystems developing in one of the last dry tropical forests in the world and in the bowels of the mountain. Ironically, until the first expeditions in the late 1960s, the local population likened the hill to a volcano because of the din caused by the thousands of bats living there and the stench of their excrement escaping from the Pozo Hediondo.

CAVING TOUR

42 caves make up this complex system that extends 249 meters below the surface.

Accompanied by an ICT-certified guide, the discovery of one of the most beautiful of them all, the Terciopelo cave, is one of the main activities to be carried out in this park.

A descent of more than 17 meters in the depths of the hill is the preamble of an exciting adventure!

P1020676.JPG
13_edited.jpg

 WILD FAUNA AND FLORA

During a visit to this park it is common to come across howler monkeys, capuchins, deer, raccoons, agoutis and anteaters and to observe a multitude of species of birds, butterflies and reptiles.  But this dry tropical forest protected by the Tempisque Conservation Area is also the natural habitat of rarer species such as the puma!

HIKES

The park's well-maintained trails provide easy access to the Nacaome Mirador, which peaks at exactly 423 meters above sea level, from where you will have an impressive view of the Tempisque Valley all the way to the Gulf of Nicoya.

 

Finally, during the rainy season, a path leads to limestone waterfalls becoming the scene of a magnificent show!

P1040936_edited_edited.jpg

HOW TO GET TO BARRA HONDA?

By car or public transport from Nicoya town.

WHERE TO STAY IN BARRA HONDA?

In a comfortable bungalow that can accommodate up to 5 people.

_edited.jpg
Address
Secure payment

WIRE TRANSFER

Contact
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

(506) 8722-0147

atipico.costarica@gmail.com

Skype : Simon Juillerat

© 2019 - 2021 Atípico Costa Rica. All rights reserved.  VIAJE ATÍPICO S.R.L. with a capital of 500'000₡.

Parque Nacional Barra Honda

Le Parc National Barra Honda

PRIX D'ENTRÉE : Résident 1'000 colones / Étranger 12$

Situé dans la province du Guanacaste à moins de 15 kilomètres au nord-est de Nicoya (soit à une trentaine de minutes en voiture de la ville), le Parc National Barra Honda est l’unique zone sauvage protégée du Costa Rica à posséder un système complexe de grottes calcaires. 

 

Pourtant, avec seulement 5’621 visiteurs en 2019 selon l’Institut Costaricien du Tourisme (ICT), il reste encore très peu fréquenté par les touristes locaux et étrangers.

S’étendant sur 2’295 hectares, ce parc joue un rôle majeur dans la région aussi bien pour la préservation des galeries d’art souterraines de la colline Barra Honda que pour la protection des écosystèmes se développant dans l’une des dernières forêts tropicales sèches au monde et dans les entrailles de la montagne. Fait amusant, jusqu’aux premières expéditions remontant à la fin des années 60, la population locale assimilait la colline à un volcan du fait du vacarme provoqué par les milliers de chauve-souris y habitant et l’odeur nauséabonde de leur excrément s’échappant de la Pozo Hediondo.

Carte Parc National Barra Honda

TOUR DE SPÉLÉOLOGIE

42 grottes composent ce système complexe s’enfonçant jusqu’à 249 mètres au-dessous de la surface.

 

Accompagné d’un guide certifié par l’ICT, la découverte de l’une des plus belles d’entre-elles, la grotte Terciopelo, fait partie des principales activités à réaliser dans ce parc.

 

Une descente de plus de 17 mètres dans les profondeurs de la colline est le préambule d’une passionante aventure !

P1020676.JPG
13_edited.jpg

 FAUNE ET FLORE SAUVAGE

Au cours d'une visite de ce parc il est courant de croiser la route de singes hurleurs, capucins, cerfs, raton-laveurs, agoutis et fourmiliers et d’y observer une multitude d’espèces d’oiseaux, de papillons et de reptiles.  Mais cette forêt tropicale sèche protégée par l’Aire de Conservation Tempisque constitue également l’habitat naturel d’espèces plus rares comme le puma.

RANDONNÉES

Les sentiers bien entretenus du parc permettent d’accéder sans difficulté au Mirador Nacaome, point culminant à exactement 423 mètres d’altitude, d'où vous aurez une vue impressionante sur la vallée du Tempisque jusqu’au golfe de Nicoya.

 

Enfin, lors de la saison des pluies, un sentier mène à des cascades de calcaire devennant la scène d’un spectacle magnifique !

P1040936_edited_edited.jpg

COMMENT SE RENDRE À BARRA HONDA ?

En voiture ou en transport public depuis la ville de Nicoya.

OÙ SÉJOURNER À BARRA HONDA ?

Bungalow Barra Honda

Dans un confortable bungalow pouvant accueillir jusqu'à 5 personnes.