20210424_160119-min_edited_edited.jpg

Rent a car

Renting your own vehicle to discover Costa Rica in a autotour journey has many advantages such as moving at your own pace and adapting your itinerary according to your desires, saving money compared to a guided journey or visiting places that are difficult to access by public transportation.

Nevertheless, the idea of renting and driving a vehicle in an unknown country can be stressful and that is why Atípico Costa Rica works with rental agencies selected for the quality of their fleet and their service to English-speaking customers.

GET 5% DISCOUNT WITH OUR PARTNERS BY MENTIONING ATÍPICO COSTA RICA!

SHOULD YOU RENT A 4X4 VEHICLE ?

Many secondary roads are not paved in Costa Rica, so yes, we recommend renting a 4x4 vehicle (especially if you want to get off the beaten path and still have some comfort).

 

However, not all locals drive SUVs! Depending on your budget and the activities that motivate your stay, our excellent knowledge of the road network will also allow us to propose you an itinerary that can be done in a city car.

Bridge in Costa Rica

HOW TO GET AROUND COSTA RICA ?

Postal addresses as we know them in the United States are not common in Costa Rica. Here you can find your way by street names, intersections and buildings like schools or supermarkets. The most reliable smartphone application to get to your destination without getting stuck by an impassable river is Waze. We recommend all travelers to download it before their departure. On the negative side, it requires an internet connection (we invite you to read our article "stay connected"). An alternative is the Maps.me application which works without an internet connection.

OUR TIPS FOR A SAFE TRAVEL :

Avoid driving at night! Outside of the GAM (San José Metropolitan Area) the roads are poorly lit, as are many pedestrians and cyclists! Add to this an abundance of wildlife and potholes and a night drive can become exhausting.

 

Respect the rules of the road! Outside the cities, the speed limit is 80 km/h in most of the country.

Opt for guarded parking! In tourist destinations, it is possible to leave your car under the surveillance of locals wearing yellow vests, nicknamed "watchies". You can thank them with a few dollars, usually when you get back on the road. Whatever your destination, do not leave anything of value in your vehicle.

WHICH INSURANCE SHOULD I TAKE OUT?

Two insurances are mandatory to rent and drive a vehicle in Costa Rica:

  1. The Third Party Waiver (TPW) or Liability Insurance (LI) - in Spanish "Seguro Obligatorio para Vehículos Automotores" (SOA) - covering damages to third parties.

  2. The Collision Damage Waiver (CDW) covering damage to the vehicle (except for the underbody and roof) and theft.

It is possible to skip this second insurance if you are able to provide proof of coverage in Costa Rica (especially for 4x4 vehicles).

RENTAL WITH OUR PARTNERS :

Our trusted partners offer you the choice of picking up your rental vehicle upon your arrival at the airport or delivering it to your hotel the next morning.

Take the time to check the condition of your vehicle, with photos and/or videos to avoid any risk of misunderstanding. An omission can happen without any bad intention from our partner!

The rental is done exclusively by credit card. In addition to the total price of the rental, you will have to make a deposit which will be debited only in case of an accident. The amount of the deductible depends on the model of your vehicle as well as your coverage rate; in fact it is possible to buy it back partially or totally for a few extra dollars per day, so you can travel with peace of mind!

JUMBO CAR COSTA RICA

Located 5 minutes from the SJO international airport, Jumbo Car has a recent fleet of city cars and sports cars 4x2 and 4x4, all equipped with air conditioning.

 

Mandatory insurances (LI & CDW) are included in the total price. Jumbo Car also offers the possibility to buy back the deductible or to extend the civil liability.

 

Take advantage of a 5% discount on the total price of your rental (excluding extras and options) by entering the promo code ATIPICO.

Jumbo Car Costa Rica
_edited.jpg

NO MORE AVAILABILITY ?

Jumbo Car does not have the vehicle you want or you have a specific request?

We can remedy this problem by contacting our network of trusted partners across the country!

20210424_160119-min_edited_edited.jpg

Location de voitures

Louer son propre véhicule afin de découvrir le Costa Rica en voyage autotour présente de nombreux avantages tel que se déplacer à son rythme et adapter son itinéraire en fonction de ses envies, faire des économies par rapport à un voyage accompagné d’un chauffeur-guide privé ou  encore visiter des localités difficiles d’accès en transport public.

Néanmoins, l’idée de louer et de conduire un véhicule dans un pays encore inconnu peut être stressante et c’est pourquoi Atípico Costa Rica travaille en collaboration avec des agences de location sélectionnées pour la qualité de leur parc automobile et de leur service à la clientèle francophone.

BÉNÉFICIEZ DE 5% DE RÉDUCTION AUPRES DE NOS PARTENAIRES EN MENTIONNANT ATÍPICO COSTA RICA !

Route non gourdronnée

FAUT-IL LOUER UN VÉHICULE 4X4 ?

De nombreuses routes secondaires ne sont pas goudronnées au Costa Rica alors, oui, nous vous recommandons la location d'un véhicule 4x4 (d’autant plus si vous souhaitez sortir des routes traditionnelles tout en gardant un certain confort). Néanmoins, tous les locaux ne roulent pas dans des SUV ! En fonction de votre budget et des activités qui motivent votre séjour, notre excellente connaissance du réseau routier nous permettra également de vous proposer un itinéraire réalisable en voiture citadine.

Pont au Costa Rica

COMMENT SE GUIDER AU COSTA RICA ?

Les adresses postales telles que nous le connaissons en Europe ne sont pas courantes au Costa Rica. Ici on se repère en fonction du nom des rues, des intersections et des bâtiments comme les écoles ou les supermarchés. L’application smartphone la plus fiable pour arriver à destination sans se retrouver bloqué par une rivière infranchissable est Waze. Nous recommandons à tous les voyageurs de la télécharger avant leur départ. Point négatif, elle requiert une connexion internet (nous vous invitons à lire notre article « restez connectés »). Une alternative est l’application Maps.me qui, elle, fonctionne sans connexion internet.

Animal nocturne sur la route

NOS CONSEILS POUR VOYAGER EN SÉCURITÉ :

Évitez la conduite de nuit ! En dehors de la GAM (l’aire métropolitaine de San José) les routes ne sont que très peu éclairées, tout comme de nombreux piétons et cyclistes ! Rajoutez-y une abondante faune sauvage et des nids de poule et un trajet nocturne devient vite épuisant.

Respectez le code de la route ! En dehors des agglomérations la vitesse est limitée à 80 km/h dans la pluspart du pays.

Optez pour des parkings surveillés ! Dans les destinations touristiques, il est possible de laisser sa voiture sous la surveillance de locaux portant des gilets jaunes, surnommés « watchies ». Vous pourrez les remercier en leur donnant quelques dollars, généralement lorsque vous reprendrez la route. Quelque soit votre destination, ne laissez rien de valeur dans votre véhicule.

Accident de voiture

QUELLES ASSURANCES CONTRACTER ?

Deux assurances sont obligatoires pour louer et conduire un véhicule au Costa Rica :

  1. La Responsabilité Civile (RC) - en anglais « Third Party Waiver » (TPW) ou « Liability Insurance » (LI) ou en espagnol « Seguro Obligatorio para Vehículos Automotores » (SOA) - couvrant les dommages occasionnés aux tiers.

  2. L’assurance Protection Dommage & Vol - en anglais « Collision Damage Waiver » (CDW) – couvrant les dommages (à l’exception du bas de caisse et du toit) et le vol du véhicule.

Il est possible de ne pas contracter cette seconde assurance si vous êtes en mesure de fournir une preuve de votre couverture au Costa Rica (notamment pour les véhicules 4x4).

LA LOCATION AUPRES DE NOS PARTENAIRES :

Nos partenaires de confiance vous offre le choix de récupérer votre véhicule de location à votre arrivée à l’aéroport ou de vous le livrer le lendemain matin à votre hôtel. 

Prenez le temps de faire l’état des lieux de votre véhicule, avec photos et/ou vidéos à l'appui afin d'éviter tout risque de malentendu. Une omission peut arriver sans mauvaise intention de la part de notre partenaire !

La location se fait exclusivement par carte de crédit. En plus du prix total de la location, vous devrez réaliser un dépôt de garantie qui ne vous sera débité qu’en cas d’accident. Le montant de la franchîse dépend du modèle de votre véhicule ainsi que de votre taux de couverture; en effet il est possible de la racheter partiellement ou totalement pour quelques dollars supplémentaires par jour, de quoi voyager l'esprit tranquile !

JUMBO CAR COSTA RICA

Situé à 5 minutes de l'aéroport international SJO, Jumbo Car dispose d'un parc automobile récent composé de voitures citadines et sportives 4x2 et 4x4, toutes équipées de la climatisation.

Les assurances obligatoires (RC et Protection Dommages & Vol) sont incluses dans le prix total. Jumbo Car offre également la possibilité de rachat de Franchise ou d'extension de la Responsabilité Civile.

Bénéficiez de 5% de réduction sur le prix total de votre location (hors extras et options) en renseignant le code promo ATIPICO.

Jumbo Car Costa Rica
_edited.jpg

PLUS DE DISPONIBILITÉ ?

Jumbo Car ne dispose plus du véhicule de votre souhait ou vous avez une demande spécifique ?

Nous pouvons remédier à ce problème en contactant notre réseau de partenaires de confiance à travers le pays !