Image de Julia Vogtmann

Monteverde

Founded in the 1950s by a few Quakers fleeing the United States in the midst of the Korean War, the community of Monteverde initially developed through a small dairy industry. Little by little, the incredible microclimate of the region and the biodiversity that proliferates there attracted naturalists and nature lovers, and it was finally in 1972 that the "Reserva Biológica Bosque Nuboso Monteverde" was founded, a biological reserve preserving one of the last primary cloud forests of the planet!

Perched at an altitude of 1440 meters, the village of Monteverde is today an exceptional ecotourism destination. Scientists and tourists from all over the world stay there to observe some of the 3200 species of plants, including more than 500 orchids (one of the richest places on Earth), and the 425 species of birds, including the resplendent quetzal.

This region alone is home to 2.5% of the planet's biodiversity, with 10% of its flora being endemic.

Finally, the remarkable character of this destination is not limited to its admirable wildlife! A stopover in the village of Monteverde is also an opportunity to learn more about the local culture, including a visit to a family farm producing coffee and preserving the practice of the famous "trapiche" (a traditional mill used to extract the sugar cane). Add to that suspension bridges and zip lines of several hundred meters hanging from the treetops and this region becomes an adventure destination that will delight young and old alike.

Image de Leslie Cross

THE SUSPENSION BRIDGES

 

A hike between natural trails and suspension bridges hundreds of meters long is one of the unique experiences to live during a stay in Costa Rica.

 

Offering impressive views of the rainforest canopy, it allows you to discover a wild fauna and flora that can only be observed from the top of the trees, reaching more than 70m high!

IN THE HEART OF A PRIMARY CLOUD FOREST

The Monteverde Biological Reserve protects more than 4000 hectares of primary cloud forest; a natural habitat in which scientists estimate that 50% of the biodiversity of Costa Rica and 2.5% of the biodiversity of the planet can be observed!

 

The 13 kilometers of trails open to the public allow you to discover the bowels of one of the most endangered ecosystems on Earth, leading to spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean on clear days, a waterfall and a suspension bridge of a hundred meters.

Image de Christopher Austin
Tranopy Jaco3.jpg

A BREATH OF FRESH AIR

A hallmark of Monteverde, ziplines were used by scientists long before tourists as a way to get around while minimizing their impact on nature.

The tourist industry of the region has made it an extreme activity, allowing families and friends to discover this breathtaking and atypical ecosystem!

OBSERVATION OF THE RESPLENDENT QUETZAL

Threatened with extinction, the resplendent quetzal, considered one of the most beautiful birds in the world, has found refuge in the mysterious cloud forests of Monteverde.

The best time to observe this species is during the dry season (January to April) when the aguacatillo fruit grows. This season coincides with its mating and nesting season when a trail of two long feathery tails up to one meter long grows on the male quetzals!

Image de Zdeněk Macháček
Bueyes moliendo3 (1)-min.jpg

CULTURAL VISITS

A true paradise on earth for nature lovers, Monteverde has also developed through rural tourism, an excellent way to discover the essence and identity of Costa Ricans.

In a warm and family atmosphere, visits to fincas, plantations and small artisanal industries allow you to discover the local gastronomy as well as the sustainable practices for which the country is famous.

Discounts can be applied for nationals and residents as well as for students and children!

HOW TO GET TO MONTEVERDE?

By car via route 606 or by public transportation from the cities of San José and Puntarenas.

WHERE TO STAY IN MONTEVERDE?

In a comfortable bungalow that can accommodate up to 4 people.

Image de Julia Vogtmann

Monteverde

Fondée dans les années 1950 par quelques Quakers fuyant les États-Unis en pleine guerre de Corée, la communauté de Monteverde s’est dans un premier temps développée grâce à une petite industrie laitière. Peu à peu, l’incroyable microclimat de la région et la biodiversité qui y prolifère attira naturalistes et amoureux de la nature, et c’est finalement en 1972 que fut fondé la "Reserva Biológica Bosque Nuboso Monteverde", une réserve biologique préservant l’une des dernières forêts de nuages primaires de la planète !

Perché à 1440 mètres d’altitude, le village de Monteverde est aujourd’hui une destination écotouristique d'exception. Scientifiques et touristes du monde entier y séjournent afin d'y observer une partie des quelques 3200 espèces de plantes dont plus de 500 d'orchidées (soit l'un des endroits les plus riches en la matière sur Terre), et des 425 espèces d’oiseaux comptant parmi elle le quetzal resplendissant.

 

A elle seule, cette région abrite 2,5% de la biodiversité de la planète, dont 10% de sa flore y est endémique.

Plan de Monteverde Costa Rica

Enfin le caractère remarquable de cette destination ne se limite pas à son admirable faune et flore sauvage ! Une escale dans le village de Monteverde est également l'occasion d'en apprendre davantage sur la culture locale, notamment en y visitant une ferme familiale productrice de café et conservant la pratique du célèbre "trapiche" (un moulin traditionnel utilisé à fin d’extraire les sucs de la canne à sucre). Ajoutez-y des ponts suspendus et des tyroliennes de plusieurs centaines de mètres accrochés à la cime des arbres et cette région devient une destination d'aventure qui réjouira petit comme plus grand.

Image de Leslie Cross

LES PONTS SUSPENDUS

Une randonnée entre sentiers naturels et ponts suspendus longs de plusieurs centaines de mètres fait partie des expériences uniques à vivre lors d’un séjour au Costa Rica.

 

Offrant des points de vue impressionnants sur la canopée de la forêt tropicale, elle permet de découvrir une faune et une flore sauvage qui ne peut être observée qu’à la cime des arbres, atteignant plus de 70m de hauteur !

AU CŒUR D’UNE FORÊT DE NUAGES PRIMAIRE

La réserve biologique de Monteverde protège plus de 4000 hectares de forêt de nuages primaire ; un habitat naturel dans lequel les scientifiques estiment pouvoir observer 50% de la biodiversité du Costa Rica et 2,5% de la biodiversité de la planète !

Les 13 kilomètres de sentiers ouverts au public permettent de découvrir les entrailles de l’un des écosystèmes les plus menacés sur Terre, menant à des points de vue spectaculaires sur l’océan Pacifique par temps dégagé, une cascade et un pont suspendu d’une centaine de mètres.

Image de Christopher Austin
Tranopy Jaco3.jpg

UN BOL D'AIR FRAIS

Véritable marque de fabrique du Monteverde, les tyroliennes étaient empruntées par les scientifiques bien avant les touristes afin de se déplacer en limitant leur impact sur la nature.

L’industrie touristique de la région en a fait une activité extrême, permettant en famille ou entre amis de découvrir cet écosystème atypique à couper le souffle !

OBSERVATION DU QUETZAL RESPLENDISSANT

Menacé d'extinction, le quetzal resplendissant considéré comme l'un des plus beaux oiseaux au monde a notamment trouvé refuge dans les mystérieuses forêts de nuages du Monteverde.

La meilleure période pour observer cette espèce est pendant la saison sèche (de janvier à avril) lorsque poussent les fruits de l’aguacatillo. Cette saison coïncide avec sa période d’accouplement et de nidification durant laquelle une traîne de deux longues queues faîtes de plumes et pouvant atteindre un mètre de long pousse sur les quetzals mâles !⁣

Image de Zdeněk Macháček
Bueyes moliendo3 (1)-min.jpg

VISITES CULTURELLES

Véritable paradis sur Terre pour les amoureux de la nature, le Monteverde s’est également développé grâce au tourisme rural, une excellente manière de découvrir l’essence et l’identité des Costariciens.

 

Dans une ambiance chaleureuse et familiale, la visite de fincas, de plantations et de petites industries artisanales permettent de découvrir la gastronomie locale ainsi que les pratiques durables qui font la renommée du pays.

Des réductions peuvent etre appliquées pour les nationaux et résidents ainsi que pour les étudiants et les enfants !

COMMENT SE RENDRE À MONTEVERDE ?

En voiture via la route 606 ou en transport public depuis les villes de San José et Puntarenas.

OÙ SÉJOURNER À MONTEVERDE ?

Monteverde lodge

Dans un confortable bungalow pouvant accueillir jusqu'à 4 personnes.