Image de James Wainscoat

When to travel to Costa Rica?

Costa Rica is generally characterized by 2 distinct seasons:

  • the dry season - or summer (verano) - from January to April;

  • the rainy season - or winter (invierno) - from May to December.

In fact, the many microclimates that make up the beauty of this country make weather predictions a little more complex than that. We have carefully studied the data from several weather stations in order to offer you the best times of the year to visit each of these regions.

Carte du Costa Rica

GUANACASTE

NOV. - AOU.

NOV. - AOU.

PUNTARENAS

DÉC. - AVR.

NORTHERN PLAINS

DÉC. - AVR.

JUL. - AOU.

CENTRAL VALLEY

JAN. - JUN.

SEP. - OCT.

CARRIBEAN

DÉC. - AVR.

CENTRAL PACIFIC

DÉC. - AVR.

SOUTH PACIFIC

GUANACASTE & PUNTARENAS :

Guanacaste and the southern part of the Nicoya Peninsula belonging to the Puntarenas constitute the driest region of the country. The seasons are also the most distinct there. Some of its localities do not register any rainfall during the summer months, making the happiness of the tourists in search of sunbathing. The beginning and the end of the rainy season are mild, which makes it possible to enjoy the region and its beaches almost all year round. Beware, the Monteverde, famous for its cloud forests, is an exception and is constantly wet.

Recommended months: November to August.

CENTRAL VALLEY:

Although this region follows the same rainy/dry season pattern as Guanacaste, rainfall is higher all year round. The months of July and August, offering days with beautiful clearings, constitute a "small summer" during the rainy season.

Recommended months: December to April, July and August.

NORTHERN PLAINS, CENTRAL PACIFIC & SOUTH PACIFIC:

These regions follow the same rainy/dry season pattern as the previous ones. However, the rainfall is more important all year round. It is therefore recommended to discover these regions during the dry season.

Recommended months: December to April.

CARRIBEAN:

Unlike the rest of the country, the Caribbean region shows very little variation in rainfall and tends to be rainy throughout the year. However, it is during the months of September and October, during the peak of the rainy season in the rest of the country, that the best weather conditions are met to discover the Caribbean.

Recommended months: January to June, September and October.

Costa Rica is therefore a great destination for wellness and adventure tourism at any time of the year! Although the dry season (from January to April) is the best period for those who wish to discover all the regions of the country, the months of September and October are the best to discover the Caribbean coast. Finally, the months of July and August together form a "veranillo" or short summer in the central valley.

Quand partir au Costa Rica ?

Image de James Wainscoat

Quand partir au Costa Rica ?

Le Costa Rica est généralement caractérisé par 2 saisons distinctes :

  • la saison sèche – ou été (verano) – de janvier à avril ;

  • la saison des pluies – ou hiver (invierno) – de mai à décembre.

Dans les faits, les nombreux microclimats qui font la beauté de ce pays rendent les prédictions météorologiques un peu plus complexes que cela. Nous avons attentivement étudié les données de l'Institut Météorologique National afin de vous proposer les meilleures périodes de l’année pour la visite de chacune de ces régions.

Carte du Costa Rica

GUANACASTE

NOV. - AOU.

NOV. - AOU.

PUNTARENAS

DÉC. - AVR.

PLAINES DU NORD

DÉC. - AVR.

JUL. - AOU.

VALLÉE CENT.

JAN. - JUN.

SEP. - OCT.

CARAÏBES

DÉC. - AVR.

PACIFIQUE CENT.

DÉC. - AVR.

PACIFIQUE SUD

GUANACASTE & PUNTARENAS :​

Le Guanacaste ainsi que le sud de la péninsule de Nicoya appartenant au Puntarenas constituent la région la plus aride du pays. Les saisons y sont également les plus distinctes. Certaines de ses localités n’enregistrent aucune précipitation durant la saison sèche, faisant le bonheur des touristes en quête de bain de soleil. Les débuts et la fin de la saison des pluies y sont clémentes, ce qui permet de profiter de la région et de ses plages quasiment toute l’année. Attention, le Monteverde réputé pour ses forêts de nuages fait exception et est constamment humide.

Mois à privilégier : de novembre à août.

Péninsule de Nicoya
Volcan Poás

VALLÉE CENTRALE :

Bien que cette région suive le même schéma saison des pluies/saison sèche que le Guanacaste, les précipitations y sont plus importantes toute l’année. Les mois de juillet et d’août, offrant des journées avec de belles éclaircies, constituent quant à eux un « petit été » durant la saison des pluies.

Mois à privilégier : de décembre à avril, juillet et août.

PLAINE DU NORD, PACIFIQUE CENTRAL & PACIFIQUE SUD :

Ces régions suivent le même schéma saison des pluies/saison sèche que les précédentes. Cependant les précipitations y sont plus importantes toute l’année. Il est de ce fait recommandé de découvrir ces régions durant la saison sèche.

Mois à privilégier : de décembre à avril.

Cascades de Nauyaca
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca

CARAÏBES :

Contrairement au reste du pays, la région des Caraïbes ne montre que très peu de variation en ce qui concerne ses précipitations et à tendance à être pluvieuse tout au long de l’année. C’est cependant durant les mois de septembre et d’octobre, lors de l’apogée de la saison des pluies dans le reste du pays, que les meilleures conditions météorologiques sont réunies pour découvrir au mieux les Caraïbes.

Mois à privilégier : de janvier à juin, septembre et octobre.

Le Costa Rica est donc une destination propice au tourisme de bien-être et d'aventure quelque soit la période de l’année ! Bien que la saison sèche (de janvier à avril) soit la meilleure période pour celles et ceux souhaitant découvrir l'ensemble des régions du pays, les mois de septembre et d'octobre sont quant à eux les plus propices pour découvrir la côte caraïbe. Enfin, les mois de juillet et d'août forment ensemble un "veranillo" ou petit été dans la vallée centrale et le nord du Pacifique.

Quand partir au Costa Rica ?