Image de Maxwell Ridgeway

Sierpe

At the gates of the Osa Peninsula, in the Diquís Delta, Sierpe is the point of passage for many adventurers in the discovery of the South Pacific. Boats depart daily from this small town in the direction of Drake Bay, itself the place of origin of many excursions to famous protected areas, such as the Corcovado National Park.

Schedules of boats from Sierpe (Donde Jorge Bar) to Drake Bay :

 

Sierpe - Drake: 11:15 am & 3:45 pm
Drake - Sierpe: 7:15 am & 2:15 pm

Price of one trip per person (foreigner) :

 

Morning: $15

Afternoon: $20

Despite a landscape marked by palm groves stretching for several kilometers on the outskirts of the city (plantations considered one of the motors of the region's economic activity), Sierpe is also close to natural and cultural wonders that are worth visiting.

TERRABA-SIERPE NATIONAL WETLAND

At the estuaries of the Río Grande de Térraba (Costa Rica's largest river) and the Río Sierpe, the Térraba-Sierpe National Wetland, the largest mangroves in Central America, develop.

In a totally atypical atmosphere, surrounded by trees and shrubs with aerial roots, an excursion on these canals allows you to learn more about this ecosystem and to observe many marine and terrestrial species, some of which are threatened with extinction.

Punta_Mala_5-min.jpg
Finca 6 UNESCO

WORLD HERITAGE

Massively exhumed in 1930 by the United Fruit Company, more than 300 megalithic spheres prove the establishment of pre-Columbian chiefdoms in the Diquís Delta region between 500 and 1500 after J.C.

Artificial mounds, paved areas, burial sites and large spheres of disconcerting perfection are spread over four archaeological sites, including Finca 6, and are inscribed since 2014 on the UNESCO World Heritage List.

HOW TO GET TO SIERPE?

By car or public transport from Palmar Norte.

Image de Maxwell Ridgeway

Sierpe

Aux portes de la péninsule d’Osa, dans le Delta du Diquís, Sierpe est le point de passage de nombreux aventuriers à la découverte du Pacifique Sud. Des bateaux partent quotidiennement de cette petite ville en direction de la baie de Drake, elle-même lieu d’origine de nombreuses excursions à destination de célèbres espaces protégés, tel que le Parc National Corcovado.

Carte de Sierpe

Horaires des bateaux reliant Sierpe (Donde Jorge Bar) à la baie de Drake :

Sierpe - Drake : 11h15 & 15h45

Drake - Sierpe : 7h15 & 14h15

Prix d'un trajet par personne (étrangère) :

Matin : 15$

Après-midi : 20$

Malgré un paysage marqué par des palmeraies s’étendant sur plusieurs kilomètres aux abords de la ville (des plantations considérées comme l’un des moteurs de l’activité économique de la région), Sierpe se situe également à proximité de merveilles naturelles et culturelles qui méritent d’être visitées.

ZONE HUMIDE NATIONALE TÉRRABA-SIERPE

Aux embouchures du río Grande de Térraba (le plus grand fleuve du Costa Rica) et du río Sierpe se développent les mangroves de la zone humide nationale de Térraba-Sierpe, les plus grandes mangroves d’Amérique centrale.

Dans une ambiance totalement atypique, entourée d’arbres et d’arbustes à racines aériennes, une excursion sur ces canaux permet d’en apprendre davantage sur cet écosystème et d’y observer de nombreuses espèces marines et terrestres dont certaines menacées d’extinction.

Punta_Mala_5-min.jpg
Finca 6 UNESCO

PATRIMOINE MONDIAL

Massivement exhumées en 1930 par la United Fruit Company, plus de 300 sphères mégalithiques prouvent l’établissement de chefferies précolombiennes dans la région du Delta du Diquís entre 500 et 1500 après J.C.

Monticules artificiels, zones pavées, sites funéraires et sphères de grande dimension à la perfection déconcertante sont répartis sur quatre sites archéologiques dont la Finca 6, et sont inscrits depuis 2014 sur la liste du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO.

COMMENT SE RENDRE À SIERPE ?

En voiture ou en transport en commun depuis Palmar Norte.